When building my stash for bento lunches, I try to work in large quantities. Some of which I’ll freeze and some I’ll use that week. I’ve been wanting to experiment with succotash for some time. The only problem was I’m not a fan of lima beans which is what it’s traditionally made with (unless like my family, you used green beans). I always felt lima beans were too gummy, too much like lumps of styrofoam. I also wanted to try several different seasonings to lessen the chance that I’d create a huge batch of something I didn’t like. I started with the basics: find a nutritious and tasty substitute for the lima bean, and create a barely seasoned base upon which to experiment with seasonings. The two seasonings I’ve decided upon are what I’d call a garlic succotash, very simple but yummy, and an Asian inspired version with sesame oil and a Furikake blend I bought today at Mitsuwa Japanese Grocery in Arlington Heights.

Sidenote: Furikake is a traditional Japanese blend of dry seasonings used for sprinkling on rice. Some have dried salmon, shrimp or bonito flakes so if you’re a vegan, read the ingredients before you buy. The flavor I bought today is called Kimchi Furikake and it contains kimchi, sesame seeds, chilis, turnip greens, wasabi and seaweed. I was looking for something strong so that a little could have a big impact.

Here are the two variations of succotash I made from one recipe:

Succotash Base

  • 1 16 oz. bag of frozen shelled edamame
  • 1 16 oz. bag of frozen corn kernels
  • 1 large red pepper, diced to about the same size as the corn and edamame
  1. Bring salted water to boil in a large stockpot.
  2. Boil edamame for 15 minutes to make it more digestible.
  3. While edamame is boiling, put three 1 tablespoon pats of margarine (Earth Balance is great) in a large metal mixing bowl.
  4. After the 15 minute boil, add the corn and pepper and bring to a simmer, not necessary to bring to boil. Cook long enough to thaw the corn but not wash out the colors.
  5. Drain the blend in a colandar, do not rinse. Dump into the mixing bowl and allow the heat to melt the margarine a bit before tossing. Continue tossing gently until margarine thoroughly melted.
  6. Split the mixture in half using two smaller bowls or directly in your storage containers if you’re not going to serve right away.

Now here’s the fun part…and feel free to experiment with any other seasoning combinations you can think of. The thing I like about succotash is that it differs by location so why not by the cook.

Seasoned Succotash with Garlic

  • 3 spring onions chopped
  • 2 large or 3 small cloves garlic, pressed
  • salt
  • pepper

Add garlic to succotash and toss gently. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Add onions last and toss more gently. Serve or store in fridge.

Seasoned Succotash Asian Style

  • 3 tablespoons of sesame oil
  • 3 tablespoons of Kimchee Furikake

Drizzle oil over succotash and sprinkle on Furikake. You may not need additional salt for this one since the Furikake contains seaweed. Toss and serve or store.

Now, your challenge is to come up with your own seasoning blend for succotash.