You know what they say, ‘measure twice, cut once’. Well, I got the bright idea of trying to fit corn on the cob in our bentos by cutting it into chunks to fit end-up because I assumed that the diameter would be too much. If only I’d checked the corn in the bentos BEFORE cutting them, I’d have known that they fit fine if I just take a little off the end. But as it stands, I now have 10 chunks of corn on the cob and they look sloppy in the bento—this is why you see a weird gap in the corn.

Oh, and I left the top slices of bread off the sandwiches for the photos, they’re not really open-faced TLTs.

My Lunch Bento

  • TLT sandwich (Tempeh Fakin’ Bacon, lettuce, tomato and Veganaise® mayo)
  • Asparagus spears
  • Corn on the cob
  • Sweet potato French fries with cinnamon and cumin
  • Grapes

Hubby’s Lunch Bento

  • TLT sandwich (Tempeh Fakin’ Bacon, lettuce, tomato and Veganaise® mayo)
  • Asparagus spears
  • Corn on the cob
  • Sweet potato French fries with cinnamon and cumin*
  • Grapes

*Tried to sneak two sweet potato fries in Hubby’s bento but he balked. He really hates sweet potatoes. I hoped that if I made fries out of them and seasoned them, he’d like them. But it’s something about the texture.

Question for y’all: has anyone else noticed their hubbys getting more finicky as they get older or is it just mine? I’m afraid that in 10 more years he’ll only be eating yogurt and cereal.