I’m always on the lookout for new and interesting salad dressings and came up with this one from ingredients I had on hand. I can’t believe there aren’t more pistachio dressings out there. I was also shooting for a slightly sweet dressing since all the dressings I have are pretty much variations on vinegar and oil. This one fits the bill and also works well as a veggie dip.

SnarkyVegan’s Sweet Pistachio Salad Dressing

  • 1 c. shelled pistachios
  • 1/2 c. golden raisins
  • 3/4 c. water, I use warm water because my blender works better with it
  • 1/2 c. olive oil
  • 3 T. cider vinegar
  • 1 T. lemon juice, I use fresh squeezed and it makes a big difference
  • 1 t. salt

Process all ingredients in a high speed blender or food processor. If your blender doesn’t emulsify nuts, use a processor. The goal is to get this as creamy as possible.

The color and texture of the dressing will be that of a knarly mustard. And if you don’t want it that sweet, back off on the raisins a tad.

Here’s a quick shot of the dressing in a little dressing cup in one of my lunches from last week. I keep it separate from my salad unless I have tough greens like kale that need to wilt down by lunch time, in which case, I mix it in with the kale and then pack my lunch.

rawbento_1