Ok, game over. Blendtec = magic! Yep, I really think so.

As everyone within tweeting range already knows, I’ve been on a quest for a great, VEGAN, 100% whole wheat, no-knead bread recipe! Well, I think I’ve found it.

About a week ago I accidentally stumbled upon this Blendtec video showing how to make a whole wheat bread. I was skeptical for several reasons:

  1. Is it really vegan or can it be easily made vegan (using a sub for honey)?
  2. Does it use a bunch of fancy ingredients I don’t have (like potato water at the ready, honestly, who keeps that around)?
  3. I don’t have to knead anything, right?
  4. And…in a blender? Fo shizzle? (KitchenAid, eat your artichoke heart out ;-)

So, yeah, this is waaaaay easy. EVEN easier than doing the no-knead route where you sorta just fold over the dough and leave it. This was faster and easier and my Blendtec did all the work. The weirdest ingredients I needed were orange juice in place of the lemon juice the recipe calls for and gluten flour. Both are items this good big vegan has on hand most of the time.

Below are photos of what the dough looks like after it pulls away from the Wildside jar on the Blendtec along with several rising shots. I think it’s important to note that not once did I have to scrape down the sides of the carafe because the Blendtec blade somehow pulled the whole thing together very succinctly. I only used a rubber spatula to help pull the risen dough out of the jar when I needed to dump it.

Here’s a better overhead shot showing the neat little ball of dough just after letting the Blendtec knead it. Compare this shot to the next one after its first rise to see how smooth it started to get.
Looking puffy and smooth!
Just look at the nice dough! Very elastic and well-kneaded all in the Blendtec! At this point, you’re supposed to dump the dough, shape it and put it in a pan. Since I don’t have a nice counter top, I dumped it on a baking sheet for the shaping step.
My shaping skills suck so my loaf was kinda lop-sided to begin with but here you go.
Of course, I can never wait for bread to completely cool before slicing so I always end up tearing at it. In any event, you can see that it don’t suck. If only I had a normal sized oven with more even heat.

Below is the actual Blendtec recipe with my two revisions noted.

And BTW, if you’re in the market for a Blendtec, here’s the model I bought and use daily.

WildSide Whole Wheat Bread (from Blendtec)

  • 1¼ cup warm water
  • 1 Tbsp dry active yeast
  • 2 Tbsp honey (I used Bee-Free Honee which worked great, other liquid sweeteners should also work)
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice (I only had oranges on hand)
  • 1½ Tbsp oil
  • 3 Tbsp vital wheat gluten
  • 3 cups whole wheat flour, divided (I used King Arthur white whole wheat)

Add water, yeast and honey to pitcher and secure lid. Press “Pulse” 2 times. Allow the yeast to proof (in the jar) for 5-10 minutes. Preheat oven to 350ºF. Add kosher salt, lemon juice, oil and gluten to pitcher and secure lid. Press “Pulse” 2 times. Add 1/3 of flour to pitcher and secure lid. Press “Pulse” 1 time. Add another 1/3 of flour and secure lid. Press “Pulse” 3-5 times. Add the last 1/3 of flour and secure lid. Press “Pulse” 8-10 times until all flour is incorporated and dough ball forms.

Allow dough to rest in pitcher for 10-15 minutes. Dump dough ball onto oiled surface and shape loaf. Place shaped loaf seam side down into 9″x5″ greased, loaf pan. Cover loaf pan and allow dough to rise for 20 minutes in a warm place or until dough has topped the pan by approximately one inch. Bake for approximately 22-25 minutes or until done. Remove bread from pan and allow it to cool on a wire rack before slicing.

One last note: Blendtec has instructions for grinding your own flour from wheat berries, which I could have done if I had wheat berries. Just sayin’.

Now if only I could stop eating this awesome bread! I think I’ll have to make a second loaf tomorrow. Fo shizzle ;-P