It doesn’t get much better than this. Except maybe for those Tater Tot Nachos I posted a few days ago. Yeah, those are good too ;-}

This tater tot pizza is my contribution to the recent tater tot pizza craze that’s been sweeping Twitter of late. More on that later.

Snarky’s SuperEZ BBQ Tater Tot Pizza

  • 1.5 cup your favorite BBQ sauce, homemade or bottled
  • 1 medium onion, sauteed, I did mine in a dry skillet ala the Engine 2 method (see photo below)
  • chipotle vegan sausage, I used a sliced Field Roast link but Upton’s makes an awesome chipotle crumble too, OPTIONAL
  • 1 bag of shredded vegan cheddar, Daiya or Teese
  • a bunch of pre-roasted tater tots, get them crunchy in the oven beforehand because they take longer than pizza
  • your favorite pizza dough, I used Trader Joe’s whole wheat
  1. Preheat oven and roast tots in oven until toasty. Use package instructions for temp and time.
  2. While roasting tots, saute the sliced onion in a dry pan, or use oil if you want. Set aside. (Dry really is possible if you use a nonstick pan. See my note and photo below.)
  3. Set both aside. Raise temp in oven to 500F.
  4. Roll out the dough and place in a prepared pan (sprinkle pan with corn meal or rub on some oil to keep the dough from sticking).
  5. Slather on that BBQ sauce. You can see from the photos that I didn’t use much. In hindsight, I should’ve used twice as much sauce.
  6. Slice or crumble chipotle onto sauce. I might try the next one without any sausage as it kinda overpowered the BBQ sauce flavor.
  7. Sprinkle with onions and tots. Top with cheese.
  8. Pop the pizza in the oven, lower temp to 425F and bake 15-20 or until cheese melts and crust is browned.

Here are some step-by-step photos:

Dry sautéing onions is indeed possible in a non-stick pan. I used a seasoned cast iron skillet. A few bits get stuck as you can see but just keep it moving over high heat until you get crispy edges and the onions are translucent.
Use twice as much BBQ sauce as you see here. I was too cautious because I didn’t want the crust to get soggy as it easily can with too much regular pizza sauce. For some reason, BBQ sauce cooks differently.
Space out your tots.
Add as much cheese as you want and bake.
Ta Da! Now grab a beer!

Additional vegan tater tot pizzas you should check out: